M2118

11th July 2023

تقديم معلومات غير صحيحة أثناء التواصل بين الربّان والقبطان

Initial Report

صعد القبطان على متن سفينة مخصصة لنقل جذوع الأشجار والأخشاب قبل دخولها الميناء مباشرة. لم يتم الإبلاغ عن أي نواقص خلال التواصل بين القبطان والربّان. عندما مرت السفينة بحاجز الأمواج، أمر القبطان (واقفًا على جناح الجسر الأيمن) بالرجوع إلى الخلف ببطء شديد. نقل الربّان الأمر إلى زميله داخل غرفة القيادة، لكن مؤشر عداد دوران المحرك في الدقيقة على جناح الجسر استمر في إظهار الدفع الأمامي. اعتقد القبطان أن الربّان أو زميله قد أخطأ سماع الأمر بالتوجه إلى الخلف، لذا قام بتكرار طلبه. أكد الربّان للقبطان أن المحرك قد توجه إلى الخلف لكن المؤشر على جناح الجسر كان خاطئًا. وكإجراء احترازي، أمر القبطان القاطرات بالحضور إلى السفينة في وقت أبكر مما هو مطلوب، ورست السفينة بأمان.

بعد الرسو، جاء كبير المهندسين إلى الجسر وأبلغ الربّان والقبطان أن المشكلة قد تم حلها. سأله القبطان عن سبب المشكلة، فأجاب أنه كانت هناك مشكلة في الأسلاك داخل المؤشر. تحدث القبطان مع الربّان، مذكراً إياه بأنه لم يعلن عن أي أعطال أثناء التواصل بينهما.

CHIRP Comment

قبل دخول الميناء أو مغادرته، يجب فحص جميع المعدات للتأكد من أنها تعمل كما يجب. وبالمثل، فإن أي خلل يتم اكتشافه يجب الإبلاغ عنه أثناء التواصل بين الربّان والقبطان.

تتلقى “تشيرب” (CHIRP) بشكل متزايد تقارير عن ربابنة غير راغبين في الكشف عن أوجه القصور الجوهرية للقبطان، والتي تظهر فقط عندما لا تقوم السفينة بالحركة كما هو متوقع، مما يزيد من مخاطر وقوع حادث ملاحي.

يخشى بعض الربابنة أنه بالكشف عن أوجه القصور قد يخضعون  لعمليات التفتيش والمراقبة من قبل دول الميناء. إلا أنه خلافًا لذلك، فإن العديد من القباطنة يخبرون “تشيرب” (CHIRP) أن السفينة التي تكشف بشكل استباقي عن الخلل يُرجّح أن يُنظر إليها على أنها تتمتع بثقافة سلامة جيدة على متنها وبالتالي أقل تعرضًا لاحتمال أن يتم تفتيشها.

في بعض الحالات، غالبًا ما تتضارب الضغوط التجارية مع دواعي السلامة. أفضل مكان لإجراء الإصلاحات يقع حيثما يمكن فيه الحصول على الدعم الفني وقطع الغيار بسهولة. إذا فوتت السفينة موعد رحيلها المقرر بسبب وقت إصلاح الخلل، فيجب قبول ذلك باعتباره الخيار الأكثر أمانًا. وهذا أفضل من فقدان السيطرة على السفينة والمعاناة من أضرار كارثية بسبب الأعطال الناتجة عن خلل لم يتم إصلاحه.

تشجع “تشيرب” (CHIRP) الشركات على إنفاذ إدارة مخاطر استباقية عبر أساطيلها وتمكين ربابنتها وكبار المهندسين لديها لاتخاذ إجراءات سلامة فعالة للتخفيف من المخاطر. كما إن المبالغة في الاستجابة بحيطة أفضل دائمًا. في النهاية، يعد تمكين الموظفين لاتخاذ قرارات جريئة للبقاء في الميناء لإصلاح الخلل أمرًا ضروريًا لضمان سلامة الطاقم والسفينة نفسها. من خلال تعزيز ثقافة السلامة والتواصل المشترك وتوفير التدريب والموارد اللازمة، يمكن للمنظمات المساعدة في ضمان تجهيز جميع أفراد الطاقم لتحديد المشكلات المحتملة حدوثها في السفينة ومعالجتها بسرعة وفعالية.

Key Issues relating to this report

الضغط – يجب أن تدرك الشركات أن الضغط غير  الملائم على  طاقم العمل للوفاء بالمواعيد النهائية التجارية يضر بالسلامة من خلال إضعاف عملية صنع القرار وإعاقة الانتهاء الفعال في الوقت المناسب للصيانة أو الإصلاح.

الاتصال – للحفاظ على السلامة الملاحية، يجب على الربابنة الإبلاغ بصراحة وشفافية عن أي عيوب أثناء التواصل بين الربّان والقبطان. عدم القيام بذلك يهدد سلامة عمليات الإرشاد الملاحي.

العمل الجماعي – إبلاغ المشكلات لفريقك وتشجيعهم دائمًا لمواجهة التحديات لضمان دراسة المشكلات بدقة. في التقرير M2117، لم يتم إصلاح المشكلة، وفي التقرير الثاني M2118، لم يتم الإبلاغ عن المشكلة المعروفة. اعتماد نموذج ذهني مشترك عند مواجهة مشاكل تشغيلية أو فنية.

الثقافة – الإبلاغ الصريح يخلق الثقة، في حين أن حجب المعلومات الهامة عن القبطان يمكن أن يؤدي إلى تدهور الثقة بسرعة.

Comment (Your email address will not be published)

Up next:

M2118

11th July 2023

Incorrect Information Provided during Master-Pilot Exchange

Initial Report

The pilot boarded a logger vessel just before it entered the harbour. No defects were reported during the master-pilot exchange. As the vessel passed the breakwater, the pilot (now on the starboard bridge wing) ordered dead slow astern. The master relayed the order to the mate inside the wheelhouse, but the engine rpm indicator on the bridge wing continued to show ahead propulsion. Believing that either the master or mate had misheard the order to go astern, the pilot repeated the order. The master assured the pilot that the engine had gone astern but that the indicator on the bridge wing was wrong. As a precautionary measure, the pilot ordered the tugs to come to the vessel earlier than required, and the vessel safely berthed.

After berthing, the chief engineer came to the bridge and informed the master and pilot that the problem had been resolved. The pilot asked what the problem was, and the chief replied that there was a wiring problem inside the indicator. The pilot spoke with the master, reminding him he had not declared any defects during the master-pilot exchange.

CHIRP Comment

Before entering or leaving a port, all equipment must be tested to ensure that it is working as expected. Similarly, any defects discovered must be passed on during the master-pilot exchange.

CHIRP increasingly receives reports of masters unwilling to declare material deficiencies to pilots, which only come to light when the vessel does not manoeuvre as expected, thereby increasing the risk of a navigational incident.

Some masters fear that by declaring defects, they may be subject to a Port State Control inspection. Ironically, many pilots tell CHIRP that a vessel that proactively declares defects are likely to be viewed as having a good safety culture on board and, thus, is less likely to be inspected!

In some cases, commercial pressures are often in conflict with safety. The best place to undertake repairs is alongside where technical support and spare parts can more easily be sourced. If a vessel misses its scheduled departure because of the time to fix the defect, then this must be accepted as the safest option. This is preferable to losing control of the vessel and suffering catastrophic damage due to a breakdown because the defect was not fixed.

CHIRP encourages companies to drive proactive risk management throughout their fleets and to empower their masters and chief engineers to take positive safety actions to mitigate the risks. Prudent overreaction is always better. Ultimately, empowering staff to make bold decisions to remain in the harbour to undertake defect repairs is essential for ensuring the crew’s safety and the vessel itself. By fostering a culture of safety and open communication and providing the necessary training and resources, organisations can help ensure that all crew members are equipped to identify and address potential issues with the vessel promptly and effectively.

Key Issues relating to this report

Pressure – Companies should be aware that inappropriate pressure on crews to meet commercial deadlines compromises safety by impairing decision-making and hindering the timely and effective completion of maintenance or repairs.

Communication – To maintain navigational safety, masters must openly and transparently report any defects during the master-pilot exchange. Failing to do so jeopardises the integrity of pilotage operations.

Teamwork – Share the problems with your team and always encourage challenges to ensure the issues have been thoroughly considered. In report M2117, the issue was not fixed, and in the second report, M2118, the known problem was not communicated. Adopt a shared mental model when confronted with operational or technical problems.

Culture – Open reporting creates trust, whereas withholding vital information from the pilot can quickly erode trust.

Comment (Your email address will not be published)

Up next: