M2121

12th December 2023

客船疏散程序

初步报告

这份报告是一位邮轮上的乘客提交的,涉及乘客疏散程序和获得救生设备的问题。

报告者表示他们经常乘坐邮轮出行,对邮轮公司之间不同的安全标准感到担忧。在一次邮轮旅行中,特别关注以下问题:

需要更好地组织船舶出发前的强制性乘客紧急集合演练。标志必须清晰,疏导乘客到达集合站的工作人员必须在疏散路线的某些部分提供引导。在紧急情况下,有关去哪里和做什么的船长安全通知可以更加清晰。客舱内张贴了救生衣标志,但却没有救生衣,这引发了乘客对全船熟悉性和在紧急情况下的安全性的担忧。

报告者感觉需要在紧急程序上进行更多的船员培训,包括乘客疏散,但值得注意的是,由于疫情导致船员的更换率变高,有些船员经验不足。

此外,对于一些有许多任务的船员而言,疲劳可能是一个问题。报告者表示,应在船员区域和乘客区域定期进行演练,以确保准备全面。

啁啾评论

CHIRP感谢报告者强调他们认为在船舶出发前的乘客集合演练中存在的不足之处。

集合演练是一项基本的安全程序,应该使所有乘客和船员熟悉紧急疏散条款。它有助于提升信心,并提供安全保证,尤其是对于那些对乘船的新人。

修订的国际海上人命安全公约(SOLAS)第III/19条要求,所有乘客在启航前或启航后立即参与安全演习,包括在救生艇站集合。邮轮公司负责高效有效地进行这些演练,以确保每个人都了解他们的紧急集合站点和撤离位置。

集结演练应该分配足够的时间,以确保乘客和船员充分理解程序。船员必须接受培训,能够有信心引导乘客到达他们指定的集合站,并能够回答乘客提出的问题。

在紧急情况下,船上清晰的标志和指示对于协助乘客至关重要。这些东西能够帮助乘客快速找到他们的集合站,并理解疏散路线。

鉴于船舶工作的高强度和压力,管理船员的工作量并考虑船员的经验水平至关重要。疲劳、压力和高工作负荷可能会妨碍船员专注于安全方案。

如果乘客需要进一步了解疏散程序,CHIRP鼓励他们向船员寻求指导。船员在那里可以协助并确保乘客的安全。

CHIRP鼓励邮轮公司分配更多的精力和时间来加强他们的应急演习和疏散程序。积极寻求乘客的反馈,了解哪些方面做得好,哪些方面可以改进,这对持续加强安全至关重要。

CHIRP联系了邮轮公司的DPA并收到了积极的回应。他们立即采取行动,根据CHIRP的信息调查了乘客的担忧并提供了反馈。他们对培训和熟悉程序进行了一些改变。这种行动值得高度赞扬,突显了该组织各个层面良好的安全文化。

以下是DPA采取的行动。

DPA登上船舶,进行短暂的海上航行,以调查报告者的评论。在此次航行中进行了紧急疏散演习,并通过电子方式核实了乘客的出勤情况。该船舶始终保持94%的出勤率,未参加者将收到演习回放的邮件。在可以调到其他频道之前,客舱内的电视会播放安全视频,没有其他内容可以覆盖该视频。

DPA报告称,船员培训已根据需要进行增加。人们注意到,楼梯引导和集合站团队非常高效。对于由于疫情导致缺少经验的担忧已通过为船员增加培训得到解决。这在船级社进行的乘客疏散模拟演练检查期间得到了验证,并且没有任何异议的情况下获得了批准。

DPA在巡查期间注意到,客舱服务员对乘客的疏散熟悉给予了更多的关注,包括救生物品的位置,并且客舱服务员在登船日向乘客介绍并说明救生衣的位置。疏散标志也得到了改善,并在整个船队中得到了解决。客船安全证书(PSSC)审核期间,客船管理部门对合规性进行了监控和确认。

这表明开放的沟通和报告的意愿可以在航运业中产生积极的结果。

与本报告相关的关键问题

习惯性做法——要注意那些无法正确执行的不完善的程序。如果由于工作条件/工作负荷无法满足,向上报告以寻求改变。

沟通——在乘客集合演习中,船员以适当的着装出现是一种高水平的视觉沟通形式。这在向乘客传递在疏散过程中有人员引导的安全通道。这将是乘客见到船员的第一印象,尽管许多乘客是常客,但也会有很多首次乘坐邮轮的乘客。

警戒——如有不合适的地方应立即报告。管理层会感谢你发现了他们没有注意到的问题。

文化——深厚的安全文化是一个商业卖点,会吸引乘客返回船上再次参与邮轮旅行。

压力——船员可能面临时间/责任压力,这意味着船员可能在某些事情上走捷径。举行一次审计/检查以确定是否存在这种情况。倾听船员的意见。

  • 压力
  • 提醒
  • 沟通

Up next:

M2121

12th December 2023

Passenger ship evacuation procedures

Initial Report

This report was submitted by a passenger on a cruise ship and concerns passenger evacuation procedures and access to lifesaving equipment.

The reporter stated that they were frequent travellers on passenger ships and had concerns about varying safety standards between cruise liner companies. Of particular concern on one cruise were the following issues:

The mandatory passenger emergency muster drill before departure needed to be better organised. Signage must be clarified, and the presence of crewmembers to guide passengers to their muster stations must be included in some sectors of the evacuation route. The captain’s safety speech could have been clearer on where to go and what to do in an emergency. Life jacket signs were posted in the stateroom, but there were no life jackets, raising concerns about passenger familiarisation and safety in an emergency.

The reporter felt that more crew training was required on emergency procedures, including passenger evacuation, but noted that due to the high turnover of crew due to the pandemic, some experience was lacking.

Also, fatigue could be a problem for some crew members with many tasks. The reporter stated that regular drills should be conducted in both crew spaces and passenger areas to ensure preparedness.

CHIRP Comment

CHIRP thanks the reporter for highlighting what they perceived as the inadequacies of the passenger muster drill before departure.

The muster drill is a fundamental safety procedure that should familiarise all passengers and crew with emergency evacuation protocols. It serves to instil confidence and provide reassurance, especially for individuals who are new to cruising.

The amended regulation III/19 in the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) mandates that all passengers must participate in safety drills, including mustering at lifeboat stations, before or immediately upon departure. Cruise companies are responsible for conducting these drills efficiently and effectively to ensure everyone knows their emergency muster and evacuation locations.

The muster drill should be allocated adequate time to ensure passengers and crew fully understand the procedures. Crewmembers must be trained to guide passengers to their designated muster stations
confidently. They should be able to respond to queries raised by passengers.

Clear and visible signage and instructions throughout the ship are crucial to assist passengers during emergencies. These should help passengers to locate their muster stations and understand evacuation routes quickly.

Recognising the demanding and stressful nature of work on a ship, it is essential to manage crew workload and consider the experience level of crewmembers. Fatigue, stress, and a high workload can impede the crew’s ability to focus on safety protocols.

CHIRP encourages passengers to seek guidance from the crew if they require additional clarification about the evacuation procedure. Crewmembers are there to assist and ensure passenger safety.

CHIRP encourages cruise companies to allocate more attention and time to enhancing their emergency drills and evacuation procedures. Actively seeking feedback from passengers on what worked well and what could be improved is vital for ongoing safety enhancements.

CHIRP contacted the DPA for the cruise liner company and received an excellent response. They immediately took action to investigate the passenger’s concerns based on CHIRP›s information and provided their feedback. They made some changes to their training and familiarisation procedures. This action is highly commendable, highlighting a good safety culture at all levels in their organisation.

Below is an account of the actions undertaken by the DPA.

The DPA joined the ship for a brief sea trip to investigate reporter comments. During the trip, an emergency evacuation drill was conducted, and attendance for the passengers was electronically verified. The vessel consistently maintains a 94% attendance rate, with non-attendees receiving letters for personal review. Cabin TVs show a safety video before other channels can be accessed, with no override.

The DPA reported that crew training has been increased as needed. It was noted that stairway guides and muster station teams were effective. Concern about the loss of experience due to the pandemic has been addressed with increased training for the crew. This was verified during an inspection by the Class during a simulation drill for passenger evacuation and was approved without any comments.

Increased focus on the passenger familiarisation meeting by the cabin attendants, including locations of life-saving items, was noted during the DPA’s tour, and cabin attendants greeted passengers and explained lifejacket locations on embarkation day. Signage was also improved and addressed across the fleet. Compliance was monitored by housekeeping management and confirmed during the Passenger Ship Safety Certificate (PSSC) audit by the Class.

This demonstrates how open communication and a willingness to report can yield positive outcomes in the maritime industry.

Key Issues relating to this report

Local Practices – Beware of inadequate procedures that cannot be correctly implemented. Report them to bring about a change if they cannot be met due to working conditions/workload.

Communications – The visual presence of the crew, properly attired at a passenger muster drill, is a high-level form of visual communication. It reassures passengers that there is guided safe access during evacuation. This will be the first time the passengers get to see the crew, and whilst many passengers are regulars, there will be many first-time cruise passengers.

Alerting – If something is not right, report it. Management will thank you for finding something that they have not noticed.

Culture – A strong safety culture is a commercial selling point that will bring passengers back to the ship for other cruises.

Pressure – There may be time/commitment pressure on the crew, which means shortcuts could be taken. Carry out an audit/review to determine if this does exist. Listen to the crew.

  • Alerting
  • Communication
  • Pressure

Up next: