M2121

12th December 2023

إجراءات إخلاء سفينة الركاب

Initial Report

تم تقديم هذا التقرير من قبل أحد الركاب على متن سفينة سياحية ويتعلق بإجراءات إجلاء الركاب والوصول إلى معدات إنقاذ الحياة.
وذكر المراسل أنهم كانوا مسافرين متكررين على متن سفن الركاب وكان لديهم مخاوف بشأن اختلاف معايير السلامة بين شركات الرحلات البحرية. كانت القضايا التالية مثيرة للقلق بشكل خاص في إحدى الرحلات البحرية:
يجب أن يتم تنظيم التدريب الإلزامي لحشد الركاب في حالات الطوارئ قبل المغادرة بشكل أفضل. يجب توضيح اللافتات، ويجب تضمين وجود أفراد الطاقم لتوجيه الركاب إلى محطات التجمع الخاصة بهم في بعض قطاعات طريق الإخلاء. كان من الممكن أن يكون خطاب السلامة الذي ألقاه القبطان أكثر وضوحًا بشأن المكان الذي يجب الذهاب إليه وما يجب فعله في حالات الطوارئ. تم وضع لافتات سترات النجاة في قاعة الاجتماعات، ولكن لم تكن هناك سترات نجاة، مما أثار مخاوف بشأن تعريف الركاب وسلامتهم في حالات الطوارئ.
وشعر المراسل أن هناك حاجة إلى مزيد من تدريب الطاقم على إجراءات الطوارئ، بما في ذلك إجلاء الركاب، لكنه أشار إلى أنه بسبب ارتفاع معدل دوران الطاقم بسبب الوباء، كانت هناك نقص في بعض الخبرة.
كما أن الإرهاق قد يمثل مشكلة لبعض أفراد الطاقم الذين يقومون بمهام عديدة. وذكر المراسل أنه ينبغي إجراء تدريبات منتظمة في أماكن الطاقم ومناطق الركاب لضمان الاستعداد.

CHIRP Comment

تشكر CHIRP المراسل على تسليط الضوء على ما اعتبروه أوجه قصور في تدريبات حشد الركاب قبل المغادرة.
يعد تمرين الحشد إجراءً أساسيًا للسلامة يجب أن يعرّف جميع الركاب وطاقم الطائرة ببروتوكولات الإخلاء في حالات الطوارئ. إنه يعمل على غرس الثقة وتوفير الطمأنينة، خاصة للأفراد الجدد في الإبحار.
تنص اللائحة المعدلة III/19 في الاتفاقية الدولية لسلامة الأرواح في البحر (SOLAS) على أنه يجب على جميع الركاب المشاركة في تدريبات السلامة، بما في ذلك التجمع في محطات قوارب النجاة، قبل المغادرة أو فورها. تتحمل شركات الرحلات البحرية مسؤولية إجراء هذه التدريبات بكفاءة وفعالية لضمان معرفة الجميع بمواقع التجمع والإخلاء في حالات الطوارئ.
يجب تخصيص وقت كافٍ لتمرين الحشد لضمان فهم الركاب وأفراد الطاقم للإجراءات بشكل كامل. يجب تدريب أفراد الطاقم على توجيه الركاب إلى محطات التجمع المخصصة لهم
بثقة. وينبغي أن يكونوا قادرين على الرد على الاستفسارات التي يطرحها الركاب.
تعد اللافتات والتعليمات الواضحة والمرئية في جميع أنحاء السفينة أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لمساعدة الركاب أثناء حالات الطوارئ. ومن المفترض أن يساعد ذلك الركاب على تحديد مواقع التجمع الخاصة بهم وفهم طرق الإخلاء بسرعة.
إدراكًا لطبيعة العمل المجهدة والمجهدة على متن السفينة، من الضروري إدارة عبء عمل الطاقم والنظر في مستوى خبرة أفراد الطاقم. يمكن أن يؤدي الإرهاق والإجهاد وعبء العمل الكبير إلى إعاقة قدرة الطاقم على التركيز على بروتوكولات السلامة.
يشجع CHIRP الركاب على طلب التوجيه من الطاقم إذا كانوا بحاجة إلى توضيح إضافي حول إجراءات الإخلاء. أعضاء الطاقم موجودون للمساعدة وضمان سلامة الركاب.

تشجع CHIRP شركات الرحلات البحرية على تخصيص المزيد من الاهتمام والوقت لتعزيز تدريبات الطوارئ وإجراءات الإخلاء. يعد السعي بنشاط للحصول على تعليقات من الركاب حول ما تم تنفيذه بشكل جيد وما يمكن تحسينه أمرًا حيويًا للتحسينات المستمرة للسلامة.
اتصلت CHIRP بهيئة حماية البيانات (DPA) الخاصة بشركة الرحلات البحرية وتلقت ردًا ممتازًا. لقد اتخذوا على الفور إجراءات للتحقيق في مخاوف الراكب بناءً على معلومات CHIRP وقدموا تعليقاتهم. لقد أجروا بعض التغييرات على إجراءات التدريب والتعريف الخاصة بهم. وهذا الإجراء يستحق الثناء للغاية، حيث يسلط الضوء على ثقافة السلامة الجيدة على جميع المستويات في مؤسستهم.
وفيما يلي وصف للإجراءات التي اتخذتها هيئة حماية البيانات.
انضمت DPA إلى السفينة في رحلة بحرية قصيرة للتحقيق في تعليقات المراسلين. وتم خلال الرحلة إجراء تمرين الإخلاء في حالات الطوارئ، والتحقق إلكترونيًا من حضور الركاب. تحافظ السفينة باستمرار على معدل حضور يبلغ 94%، مع تلقي غير الحاضرين رسائل للمراجعة الشخصية. تعرض تلفزيونات المقصورة مقطع فيديو للسلامة قبل الوصول إلى القنوات الأخرى، دون تجاوز.
وذكرت وكالة حماية البيئة أنه تم زيادة تدريب الطاقم حسب الحاجة. ولوحظ أن مرشدي السلالم وفرق مراكز التجمع كانوا فعالين. تمت معالجة المخاوف بشأن فقدان الخبرة بسبب الوباء من خلال زيادة تدريب الطاقم. تم التحقق من ذلك أثناء التفتيش الذي أجرته الفصل أثناء تمرين محاكاة لإجلاء الركاب وتمت الموافقة عليه دون أي تعليقات.
تمت ملاحظة زيادة التركيز على الاجتماع التعريفي للركاب من قبل المضيفين، بما في ذلك مواقع العناصر المنقذة للحياة، خلال جولة DPA، وقام المضيفون بالترحيب بالركاب وشرحوا لهم مواقع سترات النجاة في يوم المغادرة. تم أيضًا تحسين اللافتات ومعالجتها عبر الأسطول. تمت مراقبة الامتثال من قبل إدارة التدبير المنزلي وتم تأكيده أثناء تدقيق شهادة سلامة سفينة الركاب (PSSC) من قبل الفصل.
يوضح هذا كيف يمكن للتواصل المفتوح والاستعداد لتقديم التقارير أن يؤدي إلى نتائج إيجابية في الصناعة البحرية.

Key Issues relating to this report

الممارسات المحلية – احذر من الإجراءات غير الكافية التي لا يمكن تنفيذها بشكل صحيح. قم بالإبلاغ عنها لإحداث تغيير إذا تعذر الوفاء بها بسبب ظروف العمل/عبء العمل.
الاتصالات – يعد الحضور البصري للطاقم، الذي يرتدي ملابس مناسبة أثناء تمرين حشد الركاب، شكلاً عالي المستوى من أشكال الاتصال المرئي. ويطمئن الركاب إلى وجود وصول آمن موجه أثناء الإخلاء. ستكون هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يتمكن فيها الركاب من رؤية الطاقم، وبينما يكون العديد من الركاب منتظمين، سيكون هناك العديد من ركاب الرحلات البحرية لأول مرة.
تنبيه – إذا كان هناك شيء غير صحيح، قم بالإبلاغ عنه. سوف تشكرك الإدارة على العثور على شيء لم يلاحظوه.
الثقافة – تعتبر ثقافة السلامة القوية نقطة بيع تجارية ستعيد الركاب إلى السفينة للقيام برحلات بحرية أخرى.
الضغط – قد يكون هناك ضغط زمني/التزام على الطاقم، مما يعني إمكانية اتخاذ طرق مختصرة. قم بإجراء تدقيق/مراجعة لتحديد ما إذا كان هذا موجودًا أم لا. استمع إلى الطاقم.

  • اتصالات
  • تغيير
  • ضغط

Up next:

M2121

12th December 2023

Passenger ship evacuation procedures

Initial Report

This report was submitted by a passenger on a cruise ship and concerns passenger evacuation procedures and access to lifesaving equipment.

The reporter stated that they were frequent travellers on passenger ships and had concerns about varying safety standards between cruise liner companies. Of particular concern on one cruise were the following issues:

The mandatory passenger emergency muster drill before departure needed to be better organised. Signage must be clarified, and the presence of crewmembers to guide passengers to their muster stations must be included in some sectors of the evacuation route. The captain’s safety speech could have been clearer on where to go and what to do in an emergency. Life jacket signs were posted in the stateroom, but there were no life jackets, raising concerns about passenger familiarisation and safety in an emergency.

The reporter felt that more crew training was required on emergency procedures, including passenger evacuation, but noted that due to the high turnover of crew due to the pandemic, some experience was lacking.

Also, fatigue could be a problem for some crew members with many tasks. The reporter stated that regular drills should be conducted in both crew spaces and passenger areas to ensure preparedness.

CHIRP Comment

CHIRP thanks the reporter for highlighting what they perceived as the inadequacies of the passenger muster drill before departure.

The muster drill is a fundamental safety procedure that should familiarise all passengers and crew with emergency evacuation protocols. It serves to instil confidence and provide reassurance, especially for individuals who are new to cruising.

The amended regulation III/19 in the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) mandates that all passengers must participate in safety drills, including mustering at lifeboat stations, before or immediately upon departure. Cruise companies are responsible for conducting these drills efficiently and effectively to ensure everyone knows their emergency muster and evacuation locations.

The muster drill should be allocated adequate time to ensure passengers and crew fully understand the procedures. Crewmembers must be trained to guide passengers to their designated muster stations
confidently. They should be able to respond to queries raised by passengers.

Clear and visible signage and instructions throughout the ship are crucial to assist passengers during emergencies. These should help passengers to locate their muster stations and understand evacuation routes quickly.

Recognising the demanding and stressful nature of work on a ship, it is essential to manage crew workload and consider the experience level of crewmembers. Fatigue, stress, and a high workload can impede the crew’s ability to focus on safety protocols.

CHIRP encourages passengers to seek guidance from the crew if they require additional clarification about the evacuation procedure. Crewmembers are there to assist and ensure passenger safety.

CHIRP encourages cruise companies to allocate more attention and time to enhancing their emergency drills and evacuation procedures. Actively seeking feedback from passengers on what worked well and what could be improved is vital for ongoing safety enhancements.

CHIRP contacted the DPA for the cruise liner company and received an excellent response. They immediately took action to investigate the passenger’s concerns based on CHIRP›s information and provided their feedback. They made some changes to their training and familiarisation procedures. This action is highly commendable, highlighting a good safety culture at all levels in their organisation.

Below is an account of the actions undertaken by the DPA.

The DPA joined the ship for a brief sea trip to investigate reporter comments. During the trip, an emergency evacuation drill was conducted, and attendance for the passengers was electronically verified. The vessel consistently maintains a 94% attendance rate, with non-attendees receiving letters for personal review. Cabin TVs show a safety video before other channels can be accessed, with no override.

The DPA reported that crew training has been increased as needed. It was noted that stairway guides and muster station teams were effective. Concern about the loss of experience due to the pandemic has been addressed with increased training for the crew. This was verified during an inspection by the Class during a simulation drill for passenger evacuation and was approved without any comments.

Increased focus on the passenger familiarisation meeting by the cabin attendants, including locations of life-saving items, was noted during the DPA’s tour, and cabin attendants greeted passengers and explained lifejacket locations on embarkation day. Signage was also improved and addressed across the fleet. Compliance was monitored by housekeeping management and confirmed during the Passenger Ship Safety Certificate (PSSC) audit by the Class.

This demonstrates how open communication and a willingness to report can yield positive outcomes in the maritime industry.

Key Issues relating to this report

Local Practices – Beware of inadequate procedures that cannot be correctly implemented. Report them to bring about a change if they cannot be met due to working conditions/workload.

Communications – The visual presence of the crew, properly attired at a passenger muster drill, is a high-level form of visual communication. It reassures passengers that there is guided safe access during evacuation. This will be the first time the passengers get to see the crew, and whilst many passengers are regulars, there will be many first-time cruise passengers.

Alerting – If something is not right, report it. Management will thank you for finding something that they have not noticed.

Culture – A strong safety culture is a commercial selling point that will bring passengers back to the ship for other cruises.

Pressure – There may be time/commitment pressure on the crew, which means shortcuts could be taken. Carry out an audit/review to determine if this does exist. Listen to the crew.

  • Alerting
  • Communication
  • Pressure

Up next: