M2172

12th December 2023

滚装船船员卸货时被车辆撞倒

初步报告

事件报告由涉事公司提交。该公司非常愿意分享该事件的做法是值得赞扬的,这能让其他人从中吸取经验。

这是在滚装船上发生的一起令人痛心的个人未遂事件。负责日常监督货运任务的船员都是经验丰富且具备资质的人员。当时,涉事船员处于一辆货车前的视野盲区中,货运司机将引桥操作员做出的“大拇指竖起”信号误解成继续卸货,导致货运车辆将船员撞倒。然而该信号的实际含义是淡水软管已成功连接。尽管一直有红色闪光灯提醒此时行驶车辆仍不安全,但这种误解还是发生了。

事件发生时的环境状况良好,空气温和干燥,能见度高,风扇和车辆发动机发出的噪音音量适中。货运车辆驾驶舱内还可以听到风扇发出的噪音。

在引桥区域也配备了充足的人员,共计有三名船员。由一名一水负责领导该团队,监督甲板区域和卸货过程。

出现在此次事件中的设备均运行正常。然而,有人对将红色闪光灯作为控制措施的有效性表示担忧。过去的例子表明,这些灯有时会被忽视,这表明它们影响行为和防止事故的能力较弱。

啁啾评论

事件发生时,相互冲突的工作活动正在船上同时开展,缺乏常规的情景意识。

事件的起因在于船员和货运司机做出的某些想当然的假设。船员们假设货运司机只有在收到指定人员的明确指示下才能车辆。他们过度自信地认为红色闪光灯是监管车辆移动的有效安全措施,进而导致了这起事件。此外,船员们还相信处在货运车辆通行路径上的水手长会制止该车任何不合时宜的移动。然而,货运司机看不到在视野盲区的水手长,因此水手长无法提供帮助。

这位经验丰富的货运司机同样也在坚持他的假设。当看到引桥操作员发出的大拇指竖起的信号(实际上确认淡水软管已连接)时,司机将其理解为一个明确的继续卸货指示,而忽略了红色闪光灯。

水手长出现在司机的视线盲区中,使得原本能够阻止车辆移动的人员屏障未能发挥作用。CHIRP提倡使用物理屏障,而不是依赖于人员屏障——即使是一根彩色绳索也总比什么都没有好。CHIRP还建议非船舶工作人员的引桥操作员应穿不同颜色的罩袍或高可视性的搭肩衫。

从这次事件中得出了几个重要结论。它强调了与车辆甲板相关的固有危险,并着重说明了解决视线盲区的重要性。与司机进行直接的眼神交流是一种基本的沟通策略,但货运司机可能会误解眼神信号,强调了信号不能产生歧义的重要性。

这起事件还表明,在没有物理屏障的情况下,无论红色闪光灯等控制措施如何,司机都可以自行行动。这起事件突显了风险的正常化,强调了保持持续警惕的必要性,即使是熟悉的操作或常规操作也是如此。

最终,这起事件提醒我们,即使是经验丰富的船员和货运司机也可能在日常任务中面临危险。它强调了清晰沟通的重要性,特别是在滚装船这样的危险环境中要保证沟通的信息能被普遍理解。值得庆幸的是,在本次事件中水手长没有受到任何身体伤害。

一个国际海事承包商协会(IMCA)发布的视频强调了将自己置于危险面前的风险,该视频可以在这里找到:Line of fire – IMCA (imca-int.com)。

CHIRP强烈赞扬滚装船的管理公司对该事件进行了如此公开和诚实的报告。此类事件很少发生,但CHIRP确信,该公司的安全文化已经得到提高,船员的生活将更加安全。

与本报告相关的关键问题

提醒——必须提醒参与作业的每个人注意车辆在引桥上移动所存在的危险。绝不能允许风险正常化变得根深蒂固。引桥操作员和货运司机都需要接受定期培训。

习惯性做法——至关重要的是,该公司应将其所有滚装船的运营实践标准化。

情景意识——所有在引桥上的作业人员都必须知道他们是在危险区域和潜在的视野盲区附近工作。应在装卸货作业开始之前的安全会中强调这一风险。

分心——考虑到大型货运车辆在引桥上通行的危险环境,操作程序必须确保没有人会分散注意力。

疲劳——所有在引桥区域内作业的人员必须得到充分休息。如果让疲劳成为常态,就会导致注意力不集中并带来风险。船员的工作时间是否符合工作与休息时间(HWR)的相关规定?

  • 提醒
  • 分心
  • 疲劳
  • 适合工作

Up next:

M2172

12th December 2023

RoRo crewmember hit by vehicle while unloading

Initial Report

This report was submitted by the company, who are to be commended for being so willing to share this incident report to enable others to learn from their experience.

The incident involved a distressing personal near-miss incident on a RoRo cargo ferry. The crewmembers responsible for the daily task of overseeing freight movements were experienced and qualified individuals. During the incident, the reporting crewmember positioned himself in a blind spot in front of a freight vehicle. Unfortunately, he was knocked over when the freight driver misinterpreted a “thumbs-up” signal from the linkspan operator. This signal indicated that the freshwater hose had been successfully connected. However, the freight driver incorrectly interpreted this gesture as a cue to proceed with discharge. This misinterpretation occurred despite the presence of red flashing lights that were meant to signal that it was not yet safe for vehicles to move.

The incident unfolded in a generally favourable environment with mild and dry conditions, good visibility, and moderate background noise from fans and vehicle engines. Noise from fans was also audible within the driver’s cabin.

The Linkspan area was adequately staffed within the organisation with three crewmembers. A senior rating led this team, overseeing the deck and the discharge process.

The equipment used in the incident was functioning correctly. However, concerns were raised about the effectiveness of the red flashing lights as a control measure. Past instances have shown that these lights can sometimes be disregarded, indicating a weakness in their ability to influence behaviour and prevent accidents.

CHIRP Comment

Conflicting work activities were taking place when the incident occurred, and there was no common situational awareness.

The incident’s beginning lies in certain assumptions made by both the crewmembers and the freight driver. The crewmembers operated under the assumption that freight movement would only commence upon explicit instructions from the designated authority figure. Their belief in the red flashing lights being an effective safety measure to regulate freight movement created overconfidence, contributing to the incident. Additionally, they trusted that the presence of the bosun in the freight vehicle’s path would deter any untimely movement of the freight vehicle. However, the bosun, who was in the blind sector of the freight vehicle, could not be seen by the freight driver, so he did not provide any physical deterrence.

Conversely, the experienced freight driver held his assumptions. Upon seeing a thumbs-up signal from the linkspan operator (which actually confirmed the freshwater hose had been connected), the driver interpreted it as a clear directive to proceed, ignoring the red flashing lights.

The presence of the bosun in a blind spot, invisible to the driver, cancelled out the intended human barrier to prevent movement. CHIRP advocates using physical barriers instead of relying on human presence – even a coloured rope is better than nothing. CHIRP also recommends that the linkspan operators who are not ship’s staff should wear different coloured surcoats/hi-vis tabards.

Several significant takeaways emerged from this incident. It highlighted the inherent hazards linked with vehicle decks and underscored the importance of addressing blind spots. Direct eye contact with drivers emerged as a fundamental communication strategy, but one which can be mistaken by the freight drivers, emphasising the importance of unambiguous signals.

The incident also demonstrated that in the absence of a physical barrier, drivers might initiate movement at their discretion, regardless of control measures like the red flashing lights. The incident highlighted the normalisation of risk, underscoring the necessity of sustained vigilance, even for familiar and routine operations.

Ultimately, the incident serves as a reminder that even skilled crewmembers and freight drivers can face danger during routine tasks. It underscores the importance of clear and universally understood communication, particularly within hazardous environments on RoRo cargo ferries. Thankfully, the bosun did not suffer any physical injuries.

An IMCA video highlighting the risks of placing yourself in front of a hazard can be found here: Line of fire – IMCA (imca-int.com)

CHIRP strongly commends the management of the RoRo ferry for such an open and honest review of this incident report. Such incidents are rare, but CHIRP is sure that the company’s safety culture has improved, and the lives of those working on the ferries will be safer.

Key Issues relating to this report

Alerting – Everyone involved in the operation must be reminded of the hazards of movement across the linkspan. The normalisation of risk must not be allowed to become embedded. Regular training is required both for linkspan operators and freight drivers.

Local Practices – It’s vital that the company standardise theoperating practices on all their RoRo ferries..

Situational Awareness – All operators working in the linkspan environment must know they are working near hazards and potential blind spots. Before the transfer operations begin, this risk should be highlighted in the toolbox talk.

Distractions – Operating procedures must ensure that nobody is subjected to distractions, given the hazardous environment of large freight vehicles operating across the linkspan.

Fatigue – All operators working within the linkspan area must be adequately rested. Fatigue will lead to poor concentration and risk-taking if allowed to become the norm. Are your crew meeting compliance with the Hours of Work and Rest (HWR) regulations?

  • Alerting
  • Distractions
  • Fatigue
  • Fit for Duty

Up next: