M2172

12th December 2023

اصطدام أحد أفراد طاقم العبارة بمركبة أثناء التفريغ

Initial Report

تم تقديم هذا التقرير من قبل الشركة، والتي تستحق الثناء على استعدادها لمشاركة تقرير الحادث هذا لتمكين الآخرين من التعلم من تجربتهم.
تضمن الحادث حادثة شخصية مؤلمة على متن عبارة بضائع RoRo. كان أفراد الطاقم المسؤولون عن المهمة اليومية للإشراف على تحركات الشحن من الأفراد ذوي الخبرة والمؤهلين. وأثناء الحادث، وضع أحد أفراد طاقم الإبلاغ نفسه في نقطة عمياء أمام سيارة شحن. ولسوء الحظ، فقد تعرض للسقوط عندما أخطأ سائق الشحن في تفسير إشارة “رفع الإبهام” من عامل التشغيل. تشير هذه الإشارة إلى أنه تم توصيل خرطوم المياه العذبة بنجاح. ومع ذلك، فقد فسر سائق الشحن هذه الإيماءة بشكل غير صحيح على أنها إشارة لمواصلة عملية التفريغ. حدث هذا التفسير الخاطئ على الرغم من وجود أضواء حمراء وامضة كانت تهدف إلى الإشارة إلى أن تحرك المركبات ليس آمنًا بعد.
وقع الحادث في بيئة مواتية بشكل عام مع ظروف معتدلة وجافة، ورؤية جيدة، وضوضاء خلفية معتدلة من المراوح ومحركات المركبات. وكان ضجيج المراوح مسموعًا أيضًا داخل مقصورة السائق.
كانت منطقة Linkspan مزودة بالموظفين بشكل كافٍ داخل المنظمة مع ثلاثة من أفراد الطاقم. قاد أحد كبار التصنيف هذا الفريق، وأشرف على سطح السفينة وعملية التفريغ.
المعدات المستخدمة في الحادث كانت تعمل بشكل صحيح. ومع ذلك، فقد أثيرت مخاوف بشأن فعالية الأضواء الوامضة الحمراء كإجراء للتحكم. وقد أظهرت الأمثلة السابقة أنه يمكن في بعض الأحيان تجاهل هذه الأضواء، مما يدل على ضعف قدرتها على التأثير على السلوك ومنع وقوع الحوادث.

CHIRP Comment

كانت هناك أنشطة عمل متضاربة عندما وقع الحادث، ولم يكن هناك وعي مشترك بالموقف.
بداية الحادثة تكمن في افتراضات معينة قام بها كل من أفراد الطاقم وسائق الشحن. عمل أفراد الطاقم على افتراض أن حركة الشحن لن تبدأ إلا بناءً على تعليمات صريحة من الشخص المسؤول المعين. إن اعتقادهم بأن الأضواء الحمراء الوامضة هي إجراء سلامة فعال لتنظيم حركة الشحن قد أدى إلى خلق ثقة زائدة، مما ساهم في وقوع الحادث. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد أعربوا عن ثقتهم في أن وجود البوسون في مسار مركبة الشحن من شأنه أن يردع أي حركة في غير وقتها لمركبة الشحن. ومع ذلك، فإن البوسون، الذي كان في القطاع الأعمى من مركبة الشحن، لم يتمكن سائق الشحن من رؤيته، لذلك لم يقدم أي ردع جسدي.
وعلى العكس من ذلك، كان سائق الشحن ذو الخبرة متمسكًا بافتراضاته. عند رؤية إشارة إبهام لأعلى من مشغل الوصلات (والتي أكدت بالفعل توصيل خرطوم المياه العذبة)، فسرها السائق على أنها توجيه واضح للمضي قدمًا، متجاهلاً الأضواء الحمراء الوامضة.
أدى وجود البوسون في نقطة عمياء، غير مرئية للسائق، إلى إلغاء الحاجز البشري المقصود لمنع الحركة. يدعو مشروع CHIRP إلى استخدام الحواجز المادية بدلاً من الاعتماد على الوجود البشري، فحتى الحبل الملون أفضل من لا شيء. توصي CHIRP أيضًا بأن يرتدي مشغلو الوصلات الذين ليسوا من موظفي السفينة معاطف ملونة مختلفة/أغطية عالية الوضوح.
ظهرت العديد من الوجبات السريعة الهامة من هذا الحادث. وسلط الضوء على المخاطر الكامنة المرتبطة بأسطح المركبات وشدد على أهمية معالجة النقاط العمياء. وبرز الاتصال البصري المباشر مع السائقين كاستراتيجية اتصال أساسية، ولكنها استراتيجية يمكن أن يخطئ فيها سائقو الشحن، مما يؤكد على أهمية الإشارات التي لا لبس فيها.
وأظهر الحادث أيضًا أنه في حالة عدم وجود حاجز مادي، يمكن للسائقين بدء الحركة وفقًا لتقديرهم، بغض النظر عن تدابير التحكم مثل الأضواء الوامضة الحمراء. وقد سلط الحادث الضوء على عودة المخاطر إلى طبيعتها، وشدد على ضرورة اليقظة المستمرة، حتى بالنسبة للعمليات المألوفة والروتينية.
في نهاية المطاف، يعد هذا الحادث بمثابة تذكير بأنه حتى أفراد الطاقم وسائقي الشحن المهرة يمكن أن يواجهوا خطرًا أثناء المهام الروتينية. وهو يؤكد على أهمية التواصل الواضح والمفهوم عالميًا، لا سيما في البيئات الخطرة على متن عبارات الشحن RoRo. ولحسن الحظ لم يتعرض البوسني لأي إصابات جسدية.
يمكن العثور على فيديو IMCA يسلط الضوء على مخاطر وضع نفسك أمام خطر ما هنا: خط النار – IMCA (imca-int.com)

تشيد CHIRP بشدة بإدارة العبارة RoRo لمثل هذه المراجعة المفتوحة والصادقة لتقرير الحادث هذا. مثل هذه الحوادث نادرة، لكن شركة CHIRP على يقين من أن ثقافة السلامة في الشركة قد تحسنت، وأن حياة العاملين على العبارات ستكون أكثر أمانًا.

Key Issues relating to this report

التنبيه – يجب تذكير جميع المشاركين في العملية بمخاطر الحركة عبر الوصلات. ولا ينبغي السماح لتطبيع المخاطر بأن يصبح جزءا لا يتجزأ. مطلوب تدريب منتظم لكل من مشغلي الروابط وسائقي الشحن.
الممارسات المحلية – من الضروري أن تقوم الشركة بتوحيد ممارسات التشغيل على جميع عبارات RoRo الخاصة بها.
الوعي الظرفي – يجب على جميع المشغلين الذين يعملون في بيئة الروابط أن يعرفوا أنهم يعملون بالقرب من المخاطر والنقاط العمياء المحتملة. قبل أن تبدأ عمليات النقل، يجب تسليط الضوء على هذا الخطر في الحديث عن الأدوات.
عوامل التشتيت – يجب أن تضمن إجراءات التشغيل عدم تعرض أي شخص للتشتت، نظرًا للبيئة الخطرة لمركبات الشحن الكبيرة التي تعمل عبر الوصلة.
الإرهاق – يجب أن يحصل جميع المشغلين الذين يعملون داخل منطقة الوصلات على الراحة الكافية. سيؤدي الإرهاق إلى ضعف التركيز والمخاطرة إذا سمح له بأن يصبح هو القاعدة. هل يلتزم طاقمك بلوائح ساعات العمل والراحة؟

  • تغيير
  • إلتهاء
  • تعب
  • يصلح لواجب

Up next:

M2172

12th December 2023

RoRo crewmember hit by vehicle while unloading

Initial Report

This report was submitted by the company, who are to be commended for being so willing to share this incident report to enable others to learn from their experience.

The incident involved a distressing personal near-miss incident on a RoRo cargo ferry. The crewmembers responsible for the daily task of overseeing freight movements were experienced and qualified individuals. During the incident, the reporting crewmember positioned himself in a blind spot in front of a freight vehicle. Unfortunately, he was knocked over when the freight driver misinterpreted a “thumbs-up” signal from the linkspan operator. This signal indicated that the freshwater hose had been successfully connected. However, the freight driver incorrectly interpreted this gesture as a cue to proceed with discharge. This misinterpretation occurred despite the presence of red flashing lights that were meant to signal that it was not yet safe for vehicles to move.

The incident unfolded in a generally favourable environment with mild and dry conditions, good visibility, and moderate background noise from fans and vehicle engines. Noise from fans was also audible within the driver’s cabin.

The Linkspan area was adequately staffed within the organisation with three crewmembers. A senior rating led this team, overseeing the deck and the discharge process.

The equipment used in the incident was functioning correctly. However, concerns were raised about the effectiveness of the red flashing lights as a control measure. Past instances have shown that these lights can sometimes be disregarded, indicating a weakness in their ability to influence behaviour and prevent accidents.

CHIRP Comment

Conflicting work activities were taking place when the incident occurred, and there was no common situational awareness.

The incident’s beginning lies in certain assumptions made by both the crewmembers and the freight driver. The crewmembers operated under the assumption that freight movement would only commence upon explicit instructions from the designated authority figure. Their belief in the red flashing lights being an effective safety measure to regulate freight movement created overconfidence, contributing to the incident. Additionally, they trusted that the presence of the bosun in the freight vehicle’s path would deter any untimely movement of the freight vehicle. However, the bosun, who was in the blind sector of the freight vehicle, could not be seen by the freight driver, so he did not provide any physical deterrence.

Conversely, the experienced freight driver held his assumptions. Upon seeing a thumbs-up signal from the linkspan operator (which actually confirmed the freshwater hose had been connected), the driver interpreted it as a clear directive to proceed, ignoring the red flashing lights.

The presence of the bosun in a blind spot, invisible to the driver, cancelled out the intended human barrier to prevent movement. CHIRP advocates using physical barriers instead of relying on human presence – even a coloured rope is better than nothing. CHIRP also recommends that the linkspan operators who are not ship’s staff should wear different coloured surcoats/hi-vis tabards.

Several significant takeaways emerged from this incident. It highlighted the inherent hazards linked with vehicle decks and underscored the importance of addressing blind spots. Direct eye contact with drivers emerged as a fundamental communication strategy, but one which can be mistaken by the freight drivers, emphasising the importance of unambiguous signals.

The incident also demonstrated that in the absence of a physical barrier, drivers might initiate movement at their discretion, regardless of control measures like the red flashing lights. The incident highlighted the normalisation of risk, underscoring the necessity of sustained vigilance, even for familiar and routine operations.

Ultimately, the incident serves as a reminder that even skilled crewmembers and freight drivers can face danger during routine tasks. It underscores the importance of clear and universally understood communication, particularly within hazardous environments on RoRo cargo ferries. Thankfully, the bosun did not suffer any physical injuries.

An IMCA video highlighting the risks of placing yourself in front of a hazard can be found here: Line of fire – IMCA (imca-int.com)

CHIRP strongly commends the management of the RoRo ferry for such an open and honest review of this incident report. Such incidents are rare, but CHIRP is sure that the company’s safety culture has improved, and the lives of those working on the ferries will be safer.

Key Issues relating to this report

Alerting – Everyone involved in the operation must be reminded of the hazards of movement across the linkspan. The normalisation of risk must not be allowed to become embedded. Regular training is required both for linkspan operators and freight drivers.

Local Practices – It’s vital that the company standardise theoperating practices on all their RoRo ferries..

Situational Awareness – All operators working in the linkspan environment must know they are working near hazards and potential blind spots. Before the transfer operations begin, this risk should be highlighted in the toolbox talk.

Distractions – Operating procedures must ensure that nobody is subjected to distractions, given the hazardous environment of large freight vehicles operating across the linkspan.

Fatigue – All operators working within the linkspan area must be adequately rested. Fatigue will lead to poor concentration and risk-taking if allowed to become the norm. Are your crew meeting compliance with the Hours of Work and Rest (HWR) regulations?

  • Alerting
  • Distractions
  • Fatigue
  • Fit for Duty

Up next: